// Filter icons // Map icons // Social Icons

Experimenta Life Forms: International Triennial of Media Art

Date

Sun 23rd January 2022, 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Location

Tweed Regional Gallery & Margaret Olley Art Centre
Mistral Road

Other Dates

Wed 15th December 2021, 12:00pm

Thu 16th December 2021, 12:00pm

Fri 17th December 2021, 12:00pm

Sat 18th December 2021, 12:00pm

Sun 19th December 2021, 12:00pm

Wed 22nd December 2021, 12:00pm

Thu 23rd December 2021, 12:00pm

Fri 24th December 2021, 12:00pm

Sat 25th December 2021, 12:00pm

Sun 26th December 2021, 12:00pm

Wed 29th December 2021, 12:00pm

Thu 30th December 2021, 12:00pm

Fri 31st December 2021, 12:00pm

Sat 01st January 2022, 12:00pm

Sun 02nd January 2022, 12:00pm

Wed 05th January 2022, 12:00pm

Thu 06th January 2022, 12:00pm

Fri 07th January 2022, 12:00pm

Sat 08th January 2022, 12:00pm

Sun 09th January 2022, 12:00pm

Wed 12th January 2022, 12:00pm

Thu 13th January 2022, 12:00pm

Fri 14th January 2022, 12:00pm

Sat 15th January 2022, 12:00pm

Sun 16th January 2022, 12:00pm

Wed 19th January 2022, 12:00pm

Thu 20th January 2022, 12:00pm

Fri 21st January 2022, 12:00pm

Sat 22nd January 2022, 12:00pm

Sun 23rd January 2022, 12:00pm

Wed 26th January 2022, 12:00pm

Thu 27th January 2022, 12:00pm

Fri 28th January 2022, 12:00pm

Sat 29th January 2022, 12:00pm

Sun 30th January 2022, 12:00pm

Details

Experimenta Life Forms reveals how contemporary artists are exploring notions of life, at a time when technological change and new research findings are making definitions of life increasingly difficult to pin down. What new life forms are emerging through technological and biological adaptation and invention? Are our definitions of life shifting because of new scientific discoveries? How do First Nations epistemologies influence ways of thinking and understanding life? How are notions of our place in the web of life changing now that research is identifying sentience in animals, plant-life, and perhaps soon in our machines?

Experimenta Life Forms features a diversity of artforms including robotics, bio-art, screen-based works, installations, participatory and generative art. The exhibition showcases 20 artworks by 26 leading Australian and international artists who are making a significant contribution to current dialogues about the changing notions of life, as we know it.

Curators: Jonathan Parsons and Lubi Thomas
Associate Curator: Jessica Clark

Date

Sun 23rd January 2022, 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Location

Tweed Regional Gallery & Margaret Olley Art Centre
Mistral Road

Other Dates

Wed 15th December 2021, 12:00pm

Thu 16th December 2021, 12:00pm

Fri 17th December 2021, 12:00pm

Sat 18th December 2021, 12:00pm

Sun 19th December 2021, 12:00pm

Wed 22nd December 2021, 12:00pm

Thu 23rd December 2021, 12:00pm

Fri 24th December 2021, 12:00pm

Sat 25th December 2021, 12:00pm

Sun 26th December 2021, 12:00pm

Wed 29th December 2021, 12:00pm

Thu 30th December 2021, 12:00pm

Fri 31st December 2021, 12:00pm

Sat 01st January 2022, 12:00pm

Sun 02nd January 2022, 12:00pm

Wed 05th January 2022, 12:00pm

Thu 06th January 2022, 12:00pm

Fri 07th January 2022, 12:00pm

Sat 08th January 2022, 12:00pm

Sun 09th January 2022, 12:00pm

Wed 12th January 2022, 12:00pm

Thu 13th January 2022, 12:00pm

Fri 14th January 2022, 12:00pm

Sat 15th January 2022, 12:00pm

Sun 16th January 2022, 12:00pm

Wed 19th January 2022, 12:00pm

Thu 20th January 2022, 12:00pm

Fri 21st January 2022, 12:00pm

Sat 22nd January 2022, 12:00pm

Sun 23rd January 2022, 12:00pm

Wed 26th January 2022, 12:00pm

Thu 27th January 2022, 12:00pm

Fri 28th January 2022, 12:00pm

Sat 29th January 2022, 12:00pm

Sun 30th January 2022, 12:00pm