// Filter icons // Map icons // Social Icons

Margaret Olley: The Art of Flowers

Date

Thu 17th November 2022, 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Location

2 Mistral Rd
South Murwillumbah NSW 2484

Other Dates

Thu 17th November 2022, 12:00pm

Fri 18th November 2022, 12:00pm

Sat 19th November 2022, 12:00pm

Sun 20th November 2022, 12:00pm

Wed 23rd November 2022, 12:00pm

Thu 24th November 2022, 12:00pm

Fri 25th November 2022, 12:00pm

Sat 26th November 2022, 12:00pm

Sun 27th November 2022, 12:00pm

Wed 30th November 2022, 12:00pm

Thu 01st December 2022, 12:00pm

Fri 02nd December 2022, 12:00pm

Sat 03rd December 2022, 12:00pm

Sun 04th December 2022, 12:00pm

Wed 07th December 2022, 12:00pm

Thu 08th December 2022, 12:00pm

Fri 09th December 2022, 12:00pm

Sat 10th December 2022, 12:00pm

Sun 11th December 2022, 12:00pm

Wed 14th December 2022, 12:00pm

Thu 15th December 2022, 12:00pm

Fri 16th December 2022, 12:00pm

Sat 17th December 2022, 12:00pm

Sun 18th December 2022, 12:00pm

Wed 21st December 2022, 12:00pm

Thu 22nd December 2022, 12:00pm

Fri 23rd December 2022, 12:00pm

Sat 24th December 2022, 12:00pm

Sun 25th December 2022, 12:00pm

Wed 28th December 2022, 12:00pm

Details

This exhibition celebrates Margaret Olley’s favourite subject – the beauty and joy of flowers. Olley dedicated her career to exploring the endless possibilities of humble, domestic objects combined with colourful, textural and sculptural arrangements of cornflowers, delphiniums, calendulas, hydrangeas, poppies, marigolds, flannel flowers, hippeastrums and more. The Art of Flowers brings together some of the finest examples of her much celebrated flower paintings, spanning five decades, from public and private collections. The exhibition includes some of Olley’s early explorations of still life via a rich and expansive palette, despite modern art trends. From here flows the story of her extraordinary life and the evolution of her practice, both entwined and driven by her singular vision and her obsession to paint. Albeit a humble subject, The Art of Flowers is a splendid offering of rarely seen paintings by Australia’s most celebrated painter of still life.

Date

Thu 17th November 2022, 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Location

2 Mistral Rd
South Murwillumbah NSW 2484

Other Dates

Thu 17th November 2022, 12:00pm

Fri 18th November 2022, 12:00pm

Sat 19th November 2022, 12:00pm

Sun 20th November 2022, 12:00pm

Wed 23rd November 2022, 12:00pm

Thu 24th November 2022, 12:00pm

Fri 25th November 2022, 12:00pm

Sat 26th November 2022, 12:00pm

Sun 27th November 2022, 12:00pm

Wed 30th November 2022, 12:00pm

Thu 01st December 2022, 12:00pm

Fri 02nd December 2022, 12:00pm

Sat 03rd December 2022, 12:00pm

Sun 04th December 2022, 12:00pm

Wed 07th December 2022, 12:00pm

Thu 08th December 2022, 12:00pm

Fri 09th December 2022, 12:00pm

Sat 10th December 2022, 12:00pm

Sun 11th December 2022, 12:00pm

Wed 14th December 2022, 12:00pm

Thu 15th December 2022, 12:00pm

Fri 16th December 2022, 12:00pm

Sat 17th December 2022, 12:00pm

Sun 18th December 2022, 12:00pm

Wed 21st December 2022, 12:00pm

Thu 22nd December 2022, 12:00pm

Fri 23rd December 2022, 12:00pm

Sat 24th December 2022, 12:00pm

Sun 25th December 2022, 12:00pm

Wed 28th December 2022, 12:00pm

We wish to acknowledge the Ngandowal and Minyungbal speaking people of the Bundjalung Country, in particular the Goodjinburra, Tul-gi-gin and Moorung – Moobah clans, as being the traditional owners and custodians of the land and waters within the Tweed Shire boundaries. We also acknowledge and respect the Tweed Aboriginal community’s right to speak for its Country and to care for its traditional Country in accordance with its lores, customs and traditions.